Tablet Update: Sprout’s Cubby vs Fuhu’s Nabi 2s

One of my most popular posts is [REVIEW: The Sprout Cubby Tablet for Kids] It’s a Cubby…not a chubby. I thought I’d do a little update on our current kid friendly tablet situation.

Ben used his Cubby regularly, it served us well, until my dad sat on it and the screen cracked lol.. I still have no bad things to say about the Sprout Cubby. However, we decided against buying another one. It just so happened that the Nabi 2S Tablet was on sale that same week so we jumped onto the Nabi/Fuhi ship and haven’t looked back.


Processed with VSCO with f2 preset
I’d like to go through a few things I’ve noticed in regards to comparing the Sprout Cubby and Fuhu’s Nabi 2S Tablet:

The Nabi2s keeps a charge throughout the day, it’s much easier to put on the charger too (for those that had issues with Cubby’s charger).

As I stated in my original post about the Sprout Cubby, the Nabi’s touchscreen  is noticeably more responsive than the Cubby (for me at least). I still don’t think my son notices a difference.

There is still tons of pre-loaded content but everything is easy to delete/uninstall in Mommy/Daddy mode.

The bumper that came with the Nabi is also more durable than the one that was on the Cubby. My son can’t take this one off without help and it’s nice and squishy/absorbent for the occasional drop. Speaking of bumpers. There are TONS of accessories available to purchase for the Nabi Tablet(s). When we purchased our Nabi 2s a screen protector was included and it has done well. We haven’t gotten a chance to use any of the other accessories yet. We’ll probably get a new bumper in the future, if there’s ever a good sale.


All of the Pros of the Sprout Cubby were still a Pro with the Nabi 2s. If you recall, my main concern was having Google Play readily available (the Nabi Jr. did not have it installed). The Nabi 2s had Google Play installed from the get-go. No need to root or proceed with a workaround. The ONLY thing that the Nabi 2s lacked was the rear facing camera, but we could do without it. Ben isn’t interested in photography at the moment; he’s more of a cardboard box playhouse kinda kid.


If anything, the Nabi 2s solved most, if not all, of the Cons I had listed in my previous Cubby review. I’ve also noticed that the Sprout Cubby isn’t that easy to come by anymore and the Nabi 2s is priced very competitively with it now (they both go for around $80 at Walmart). If you can find them both at a store, I’d definitely check and see what the pricing is, it seems to fluctuate for whatever reason. If they’re about the same price, I would go with the Nabi 2s hands down. Try them both out and see for yourself. If you have any questions (about either tablet) drop them down in the comment section below!


Do you have any recommendations for a budget friendly, toddler friendly, tablet?

3 thoughts on “Tablet Update: Sprout’s Cubby vs Fuhu’s Nabi 2s

    • Off the top of my head, I would recommend YouTube Kids, anything by Duck Duck Moose and any of the free doodle apps. I’ll work on a blog post with more details! Thank you for reading the review though 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

