Let’s Talk Potty Training

This past week we’ve started Benjamin with potty training. He’s almost 2.5 now and with baby #2 on the way, it’d be nice to have at least one child out of diapers. Please note that all children are different and what worked for us, may not work for you.

I had a three day weekend and I decided I would use this time to try and see where Ben was at with his potty readiness. We had tried a couple times when he was about to turn 2, and he just wasn’t ready. There was a lot of screaming and running away back then. I didn’t expect much different, this time around.

DAY 1

The morning started off nice, toddler sleepy smiles with crusty eyes are the best. I felt his diaper and it was dry. I briefed him on what was going to happen, no more diapers; just big boy chones (slang for underoo in our household). He was pretty excited and I brought him to the bathroom for our first morning pee. He emptied his entire bladder. SUCCESS! We did the potty dance and washed our hands.

The next battle was having him choose between two different styles of underwear. Minions vs. Paw Patrol…He went with Paw Patrol, so now there’s a face of a dog on my son’s rear end.

It was a warm day so I decided to let him run around with no pants, just underwear. It was easier to get him out of just one layer instead of two. We made trips to the potty every 15-30 mins, even if it was just to try. I would do that potty dance even if it was a dribble of pee. I tried to stay away from asking: “Ben, do you have to pee?”, “Do you want to try the potty?”, “What about poop?” and stuck with direct statements: “Time to go try the potty.”, “Bring your toy, let’s sit on the toilet to pee.” I would remind him every 10 minutes or so to let us know if he has to use the potty.

We had multiple successful trips going #1. We had 2 accidents, not bad. The second accident was on our way to the toilet, he had ran up to me and grabbed his junk as if he were trying to say “HEY MOM, THIS THING IS GOING TO LEAK!” By the time we made it to the bathroom, the pee was already on the floor. He was sad and disappointed with himself, I reassured him that he’s not in trouble and we’ll just try again next time!

We put him back in his diaper that evening after his last trip to the bathroom, just to be on the safe side.

DAY 2

Great potty day, multiple successful pees. No accidents this day! I also extended our potty trips to every 30-45 mins. Ben was very excited to make frequent trips to the potty, his grandma promised him a new toy if he didn’t have an accident so he was determined to get that toy.

After several trips to the potty just to fart, it was go time. I was pretty sure I’d be going poop hunting by the end of the day. Much to my surprise, it wasn’t too bad. He came up to me that evening and said “Momma, I need to poop..” he was nervous. At first, he didn’t want to sit on the potty so I let him run around butt naked for a bit. He was upset I wasn’t putting a diaper on him. I reassured him that he didn’t need one and we would go to the potty when he was ready to go. Eventually, he asked me “Potty now?”

We went to the bathroom and he kept saying “Uh-oh..oh no..the poop!” Poor guy was scared of what was going to happen when the poop came out, with no diaper to catch it. After the big kahuna landed in the toilet, it was a breeze. Almost like he had gotten over his fear of pooping in the potty!

Back in diapers again right before bedtime.

DAY 3

Woke up early, couldn’t get him to sit on the potty before church. Regretfully put him in a diaper for the morning service. He did, however, come up to me a handful of times to tell me he had to go pee. He didn’t fuss or get scared of the new toilet/environment and we successfully went pee a handful of times. He hated his diaper though and asked for his underwear the moment we got home.

Multiple trips for #1s and another successful #2. He was a little nervous about the poop again but he was so excited and proud of himself afterwards. He did a victory lap around the bathroom and gave multiple high fives to everyone after he washed his hands.

DAY 4 + BEYOND

Much of the same happened from Day 4+, still haven’t had an accident at home. We haven’t had to do many errands or take him out of the house. That’ll be the true test to see how well we’re doing.

My slight germaphobe tendencies are giving me anxiety about public restrooms but I have a plan (and an amazon list). I’ll be posting again with what my purchases are/were and if we had success with them.

We still haven’t put him in underwear overnight or during naps, going to invest in some pee pads to be on the safe side.

Currently, I’m not too sure what to add to the diaper bag other than spare clothes. A question for you potty trained pros: What are some “must haves” when potty training your child?

Happy potty training everyone πŸ™‚


-Bevin

2 thoughts on “Let’s Talk Potty Training

Leave a Reply

